IBAVI Leadership

Leadership for the IBAVI occurs at two interdependent levels: Executive Board and Advisory Board.

IBAVI Executive Director and Board

The IBAVI is administered by the IBAVI Executive Director and Executive Board. The Executive Board members include:

  Craig N. Shealy, Ph.D.
Executive Director, International Beliefs and Values Institute
Professor of Graduate Psychology, James Madison University
  Teresa Harris, Ph.D.
Managing Director, International Beliefs and Values Institute
Professor and Department Head, Early, Elementary, and Reading Education
James Madison University
  Devi Bhuyan, Psy.D. 

Fellow, International Beliefs and Values Institute
  Jennifer Coffman, Ph.D.

Associate Executive Director, Center for Global Engagement
Professor of Integrated Science and Technology
James Madison University
  Michele Estes, Ph.D.

Member, Summit Series Steering Committee
Partner, ESD Innovate
Associate Professor, Learning, Technology & Leadership Education
James Madison University
  Steve Grande, Ph.D.
Director, Center for Service Learning
James Madison University
  Fletcher Linder, Ph.D.
Associate Vice Provost for University Programs
Professor of Anthropology
James Madison University
  Roderic L. Owen, Ph.D.
Professor of Philosophy
Fellow, Spencer Center for Civic and Global Engagement, MBU
  David Owusu-Ansah, Ph.D.
Professor of Africana Studies
Special Assistant to the President for Faculty,
Office of Access and Inclusion
James Madison University
  Lee G. Sternberger, Ph.D.
Professor and Associate Provost, Academic Affairs
Executive Director, Center for Global Engagement
James Madison University


IBAVI Advisory Board

The IBAVI Advisory Board includes a distinguished and international assemblage of individuals and organizations from around the world.


Akwasi Aidoo, Ph.D.
Senior Fellow
Humanity United
New York, USA

  A. T. Ariyaratne, D.Litt., D.H.
Founder and President

Sarvodaya Shramadana Movement
Moratuwa, Sri Lanka 

  Dr. Jo Beall
Director, Education and Society
Member, Executive Board
British Council
  Lindy Brewster
  Joseph Camilleri, Ph.D.
Emeritus Professor
Past Director, Centre for Dialogue
La Trobe University
Melbourne, Australia
  Cecilia Christersson, Ph.D.
Pro-Vice-Chancellor in Global Engagement
and Challenge Based Learning
Malmö University, Malmö Sweden
  John Dirkx, Ph.D.
Department of Educational Administration
Michigan State University
  Prof. Charles Hopkins
UNESCO Chair on Reorienting Education towards Sustainability
York University, Toronto, Canada
  Keiko IKEDA, Ph.D.
Professor, Division of International Affairs
Vice-Director, Institute for Innovative Global
Education (IIGE)
Kansai University, Osaka, Japan
  Shagufa Kapadia, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Human
Development and Family Studies,
Coordinator, Center of Advanced Study in
Human Development Director, Women’s Studies Research Center
Maharaja Sayajirao University of Baroda, India
  India Still, J.D., L.LM
International Education Administrator
Board President of Avanzar, Inc.
  Yoshie Tomozumi Nakamura, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Human and Organizational Learning
George Washington University
  Usha Nayar, Ph.D.
Professor and Provost (fmr.)
Tata Institute of Social Sciences
Mumbai, India
  Arnd Wächter
Founder and CEO
Crossing Borders Education